Food Security

According to Feeding America, there are four levels of food security that fall into two categories, food secure or food insecure.

Food Secure
  • High Food Security – household has no problems or anxiety about food with consistent access to adequate food.
  • Marginal Food Security – household has problems or anxiety at times about accessing adequate food, but the quality, variety, and quantity of food were not substantially reduced.
Food Insecure
  • Low Food Security – household has reduced the quality, variety, and desirability of their diets, but the quantity of food intake and normal eating patterns were not substantially disrupted.
  • Very Low Food Security – at times during the year, eating patterns of one or more household members were disrupted and food intake reduced because the household lacked money or other resources for food.

Food insecurity is not limited to one demographic. It impacts every community across the United States.

What is food insecurity and why is it a problem?

The U.S. government defines food insecurity as, “the disruption of food intake or eating patterns because of lack of money and other resources.” Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan’s Social Determinants of Health series centers around food insecurity and who it affects. Learn more about their work at mibluesperspectives.com.

Starving for Change: Poverty and Food Insufficiency in Northern Michigan

This video talks about the issues around food insecurity, how it impacts families and how taking action requires a unified approach to make positive change.

Global Food Security

This video by the Canadian Foodgrains Bank explains what food security means globally and how it relates to ending global hunger. Canadian Foodgrains Bank is a partnership of Canadian churches and church-based agencies working to end global hunger.

Scroll to Top